Sustainability Task Force

On August 3, 2020, the Oviedo City Council adopted Resolution 3942-20 creating a 7-member “Sustainability Task Force”.    The appointed task force will serve in an advisory capacity to City Council and provide recommendations regarding sustainability and related matters.  The task force will:

  1. Identify and make recommendations to the City Council concerning affordable strategies associated with conservation, renewable energy, energy efficiency, and other sustainability-related initiatives and programs.
  2. Assist the City’s consultant and staff to develop sustainability goals, objectives, and policies to be incorporated into the City’s Comprehensive Plan as part of the 2040 Comprehensive Plan Update. 
  3. Assist the City with the development of a Sustainability Strategic Plan for City operations with a goal of achieving 100% renewable energy for City operations by 2050.
  4. Encourage and promote sustainability in City programs, services, operations, planning, and goal setting.
  5. Foster partnerships with and between community organizations.
  6. Act as a liaison between the City Council and Community Sustainability Organizations.
  7. Perform such additional duties and services as may from time to time be assigned by the City Council..  

Sustainability Task Force
Committee Members

Wayne Bowen
Connor Dimatteo
Desta Horner

Meghan McCollum
Tara McCue
Stephen Schenck

Lisa San Filippo